A talk with Mr. Matsumura, my teacher at Hirado High School

A contribution by Nagasawa Kazuya (16)

English 日本語 I 中文

My Job

“I am Yasuhito Matsumura. I am 41. I work as a high school teacher in Hirado.

I was transferred here in 2016 so I’ve been living here for four years.”2

Why did you become a teacher?

“In Junior High, I had a teacher who just knew anything. So I wanted to be like him.

Also, I want to be a baseball coach in at a high school.

I decided to teach at high schools rather than middle schools because I feel high school students are more mature.”

What kind of teacher are you aiming to be?

“I treat my students the same as adults. I talk to them in a way that doesn’t make them feel like I am overly superior, because I want them to feel at ease when they talk with me. The students at Hirado High School are very pure and honest. They’re nice kids.”

What I love about Hirado.

“The people in Hirado are very friendly, which makes life is easy and simple.

And I love the fresh sashimi and Hiradogyu (Hirado Wagyu Beef)!”

Leave a comment